[Versión bilingüe]

I wake up in the morning and think about what I have to do today. Endless task lists because, when I cross out something (blessed satisfaction), three new obligations appear. What a monstrous Hydra are those checklists! Hydra, guarding the entrance to the Underworld under the waters, strangles me. And Hydra I become. My head is divided into thousands of chores, without mindfulness to any of them. With constant thought on what to do next, or tomorrow, or next week. Or in continual abstraction in what I did, what I could have done, what I would do if I went back. And I get like a Hydra. I get frustrated, I get angry because I do not have the time. Because I am overwhelmed. Because I do not spend a single moment thinking about anything, just listening, in silence…

Where is what I do? Where is it? What am I doing? I feel alienated, robotized, depersonalized. Everything is what it was or what it will be.

I close my eyes. Breathe. Now. I hear it: how the air enters, fills my lungs until it reaches the abdomen, and then it rises, vivacious, towards the surface, sliding towards the exit, very subtly. Now. I stand still. I do not breathe for a moment, as if I were dead, and then I am reborn. Now. And as my breathing, like the air that comes in and out ceaselessly, I cease being submerged under the waters of the Hydra. What do I do? Now. I listen: air and silence. Now.

Marta.


Me despierto por la mañana y pienso en qué tengo que hacer hoy. Listas de tareas infinitas porque, cuando tacho algo (bendita satisfacción), aparecen tres nuevas obligaciones. ¡Qué monstruosa Hidra son esos listados! Hidra, custodiando bajo sus aguas la entrada al Inframundo, me estrangula. Y en qué Hidra me convierto. Mi cabeza se divide en miles de quehaceres, sin atención plena a ninguno de ellos. Con constante pensamiento en lo que debo hacer después, o mañana, o la semana que viene. O en continua abstracción en lo que hice, lo que pude haber hecho, lo que haría si volviese atrás. Y me pongo como una Hidra. Me frustro, me enfado porque no me da el tiempo. Porque me agobio. Porque no paso ni un momento pensando en nada, tan solo escuchando, en silencio…

¿Dónde queda lo que hago? ¿Dónde está? ¿Qué estoy haciendo? Me siento alienada, robotizada, despersonalizada. Todo es lo que fue o lo que será.

Cierro los ojos. Respiro. Ahora. Lo oigo: cómo entra el aire, llena mis pulmones hasta llegar al abdomen y, seguidamente, asciende vivaz hacia la superficie, deslizándose hacia la salida, muy sutilmente. Ahora. Me quedo quieta. No respiro por un instante, como si muriese, y después, renazco. Ahora. Y como mi respiración, como el aire que entra y sale sin cesar, dejo de estar sumergida bajo las aguas de la Hidra. ¿Qué hago? Ahora. Escucho: aire y silencio. Ahora.

Marta.

Leave a Reply

